Home > Ramblings > I hope that wasn’t sarcasm. I don’t like sarcasm.

I hope that wasn’t sarcasm. I don’t like sarcasm.

So, we’re moving towards a service industry country are we? Doesn’t look much like it to me. For the second time in just over a week I’ve had somebody being sarcastic to me during the course of their job.
 
The first time a waitress at ASK pizza in Colchester sarcastically thanked me for the £2 tip I left. Well, here’s an idea: The only reason we managed to pay the bill was because we took it up to the bar after getting fed up of waiting 15 minutes for somebody to come and collect it. Besides which we only had a small meal so that £2 was 10% of the bill anyway. Frankly, all things considered (her attitude and lack of service) I should have left nothing.
 
Next time I will.
 
Unfortunately I didn’t complain, as I couldn’t actually believe she was being so rude. I checked with Emma when we got outside and she confirmed that I wasn’t just imagining it.
 
Well I didn’t complain then, but you’ve managed to earn your company a far from complimentary mention on the web. OK, it’s only on this page but it should eventually appear in search engines whenever anyone searches for ‘ask’, ‘pizza’, and ‘Colchester’, and bad publicity isn’t good – especially when it’s deserved.
 
My tip to anyone thinking of visiting this particular establishment (or any of their other branches), is not to tip (or if your conscience can’t cope with that, tip the bare minimum and expect some ‘negative feedback’ off the staff.
 
Better still, go somewhere else.
 
Anyway, The second incident came a few moments ago when I called up customer services for n-power. Basically (and to cut a long story a bit shorter) I asked for confirmation that the email they sent me confirming I would be switching supplier at the new house was correct – after all I don’t have a supplier there already as I’ve not moved in yet so how can I switch?
 
It’s not a difficult question: “Is this ok of have I filled in the wrong online application form.”
 
She didn’t have a clue what I was talking about, so I re-phrased the question as basically as I could (I’m sure if it had been an Indian help desk she would have understood – but this sounded UK based). Anyway her response was:
 
“Well somebody supplies that address so it’s classed as a switch”
 
No problem there. “OK, thanks” I said, “I just wanted to check”.
 
Cue sarcasm. Now to be fair I forget exactly what she said so I’ll not make up a quote, but I was clearly being given the message I should have known this.
 
I couldn’t help thinking to myself “I’m sorry – I don’t move every day and if you’re going to use ambiguous wording I’m going to have to check! Hold on, I’m the customer aren’t I? You’d only kicked up a mommoth fuss later if I had filled in the wrong form! I’m asking for HELP!”
 
Oh well.
 
“And you’ll have to let the previous suppliers know the meter readings” she said.
 
“I’m sorry?”
 
“You need to send them the meter readings when you move in so they can bill you for anything outstanding from the old owner for you to pay”
 
“But the forms say you handle all this”
 
“No”
 
“So does the confirmation email”
 
“It’s up to you to get this sorted out”
 
Right. Check the website, everywhere it says how simple the make things and how they do all the work.
By this time I’m thinking they don’t want me as a customer, but I’m too tired to argue; I’ll do that when the forms come in.
 
If they make it too hard for me the contract won’t get signed and I’ll go with somebody else. I spent about £790 on gas and electricity last year, so it’s not as if I’m a light user.
 
Note to n-Power: Don’t p*ss off your potential customers before they sign anything.
Categories: Ramblings
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.